Thread: How to repair plastic bumper (Cracked)

Frangipani

Unhappy How to repair plastic bumper (Cracked)

So looks like someone either reversed into my car or something at the car park yesterday.. Here's a pic:
    20120909_131914.jpg

How would i go about fixing it.. was watching that video where Marty fixed Moogs s15, but that was a gash rather than a ripped bumper.

Would epoxy 2 part glue do it?

Frangipani

I'm no expert, but if it were my bumper, i'd be stripping back a section, and using something like plasti-bond to fix the crack. Then sand it all down, and re spray.

Iv'e used plasti-bond on heaps of stuff before (including wood, metal, plastic and concrete), and I love the stuff!

if you use epoxy, make sure it's not quick dry, as quick dry is brittle. If it's quick, dry mix it so you use less harder. This should make it less brittle.
    Last edited by bubblegoose; 12-09-2012 at 10:02 AM.

I would take off the bumper and use bondo on it or bog. Make sure you use high grit sandpaper because you'll be working on a plastic bumper. Then prime and paint. I would watch a few videos on how to match paint and learn a few techniques, just so it isn't noticeable. Good Luck.

In the backyard. Working on a car. Again.

Best option would be plastic weld the crack. Is possible to do DIY but you need a plastic welder. I've seen them on ebay for around $100. There might be a plastic welder in your area who might fix it for the cost of buying the tool.

You might be able to use a soldering iron, but often this just burns the plastic instead of melting/moulding it together due to the temperature and heat dispersion.