Thread: How To Stance Your Car!

+50kw

Default How To Stance Your Car!

MCM should make a video on how to stance your car. they made lowering, but some people (not me, i no haz car) like the "stance" look.

Green things

they should do the blue turd, get that grinder and welder out son

Good suggestion but i think MCM videos are focused primarily on function, practicality and legal mods. If you want to "stance" your car you might be better looking here http://www.stanceiseverything.com/20...-tech-lowered/

I'm not an expert on stance, but I believe it requires a certain amount of camber, so the tires sit inside the wheelwells and the edge of the rims are flush with the edge of the wheelwell.

The effect of the wheels tipping into the car is called "negative camber" (positive would be tipping out).
    First thing to do is get adjustable coilover suspension. As soon as you lower your car, it usually also develops a little extra negative camber. On some cars, this is enough.
    If not, there are several options, depending on your car.

For McPherson struts, there are so-called "Camber Bolts", wich are special designed bolts to change the camber angle of the wheels, by changing the angle on wich the strut attaches to the hub.
    You can also get adjustable top mounts to pull the strut in further at the top, also increasing the camber angle.
    Some coilover kits also come with additional camber adjustment possibilities, so you may wanna check that out. The AP Sportfahrwerke kit on my Corsa has oval upper bolt holes to increase the camber angle.
    With McPherson struts, you also run an increased risk of hitting the strut with the wheel, so you may need wheels with a low offset (often found on dished wheels) or add spacers to lower the offset. This will distance the wheel from the strut.