Super Cheap Auto Castrol Edge Michelin Go Fast Bits Shannons Insurance Haltech Ryobi Century Batteries WD-40 KYB NTK NGK Spark Plugs Whiteline

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[Victoria, AUS] What are the steps to legally modding a car?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Victoria, AUS] What are the steps to legally modding a car?

So I watched the MCM video where they did some mods to a BRZ and I want to do something with my 2014 Fiesta ST. But I have no idea what the process even is. The MCM videos don't go into that much detail and they're in NSW anyway. Eg. they finished up their BRZ and then drove off to get the wheels aligned. Can you even drive a newly modded car on the road without approval?

I know there's something called "VASS certification" that Vicroads wants for modified vehicles, but I'm not good with interpreting legal speak so I was hoping someone with modding experience in Victoria would be able to break down the process of legally modding a car here. And for reference, my vehicle is already registered and road-worthy. I only purchased it second-hand from the Subaru dealership in Melbourne late last year.

Now I have read this post; https://forums.mightycarmods.com/for...ying-your-ride , but they don't actually explain things in much detail, particularly for Victoria, and only vaguely mention engineer approval and certification with "complex mods", which isn't very helpful in knowing what you're supposed to do.