Super Cheap Auto Castrol Edge Michelin Go Fast Bits Shannons Insurance Haltech Ryobi Century Batteries WD-40 KYB NTK NGK Spark Plugs Whiteline

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Building up a Mopar 318 and putting it under a Studabaker, for the Fury Road!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building up a Mopar 318 and putting it under a Studabaker, for the Fury Road!

Hey all,
    I've been working for over a year now and it's getting there, still plenty of work to do. But If I go back to the beginning, I started with this awful rusty lump of American Iron I found in someone's back yard!
    rustblock.jpg
    Don't worry, I know I can bring it back to life because even though I have no experience rebuilding engines, I do have an undeserved amount of confidence!
    Valves looked great!
    vlave.jpg
    Other than some substantial rust/ gunk build up, the heads were, not ok, but not not ok.
    dirtyhead.jpg
    I cleaned em up with a sandblaster after plugging up the valve guides. (Which looked pretty good considering)
    Then I set about porting and polishing them, Something else I have no experience doing!
    port polish.JPG
    They ended up looking pretty good, I guess? I think they did but what do I know?

heads 2.jpg
    Well, there's a lot more to it, and feel free to skip ahead by watching the video

You do not have permission to view this gallery.
    This gallery has 1 photos.

Looks good mate, a good engine to start with if you have no experience rebuilding engines. It looks fairly simple.

Be careful about opening the ports up, you can actually make things worse as you slow the air speed heading towards the valves. can encourage wall wetting as well, you need the air speed to stay high so the fuel remains suspended in the air Same principle applies if you make headers, you don't want the runners to be too big in diameter, or they'll extract less efficiently.