Sponsor Banner Go Fast Bits Castrol Edge Super Cheap Auto Haltech Bridgestone RE003 Ryobi Tools Century Batteries WD-40

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to start reading ECUs

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to start reading ECUs

Okay, so big topic here and I know I'm well out of my depth at the moment, but I'm really trying to get some work done on my car so I figured why not dip my toes in.

I have a Honda Odyssey and I'm looking to do some engine swappy, superchargey stuff but Hondata don't make a mod for my ECU, and while I know I can piggyback a Haltech Elite into my car to do everything I want there, I'm just wondering how the hell people even reflash ECU's in the first place. What equipment do they use to read them and how can I start decoding mine in order to read the CAN-BUS and start mapping my ECU?

If you're a big nerdy then I wanna talk to you. I have some programming experience and tiny tiny understanding of electronics but I've managed to get by so far so I'd really REALLY like to even begin to understand what's going on inside my little grey box.

Thanks in advance for people's patience and if you're also interested please tag in with a 'following'!

Following

But my understanding of it is this:

from what I know about computers, sometimes it's a lot of trial and error if you're starting from scratch. For example you need to know what chip your ECU has and where you'd expect it to "dump" data. You may need to apply power to a specific pin on the chip for a precise period of time in order for the chip to dump it's memory which you can then read.

You'd then get a massive binary to reverse engineer, then you'd need to work out what areas of memory the data goes into and what their values are.